my cart

Items ( 0 ) 0.00

Order over €75,- and get free shipping!

Raphael Rogiński - Talán

Cassette version of the 2023 solo album by guitarist, composer and musicologist from Warsaw, Rogiński, who received recognition as a member of the Shofar trio where he performs with saxophonist Mikołaj Trzaska and percussionist Macio Moretti. Nice metallic paper cover.

“Talán is a very old (probably Scythian) word that can be translated as „maybe” and that’s where my musical approach comes from – I take something in order to lose something else, Rogiński explains. It’s a constant process of achieving goals by getting rid of others and I’m fixated on this idea. It’s also a meditation upon a process, a calm observation, Rogiński says.

The album is also a result of my fascination with the Black Sea. All of the tracks are somehow connected to it and some were composed in Odessa – a city often thought of as a gateway to Asia. This is where my some of my ancestors arrived to Europe, says Raphael. When working on these tunes I came to know the Black Sea both physically and spiritually. What’s interesting, it’s been once called Inhospitable Sea only to later turn into Hospitable Sea. A myth was tamed and when the mystery disappeared and different civilizations met, a new myth came into life.

You may notice an unorthodox sound of this album and please be aware that this is intended. It came straight from my heart. I wanted this music to sound as if played right next to the listener and that’s why you may notice strange background noises recorded when I was playing. The album was composed over a couple of years and took many attempts at the recording. My patience is usually very limited so this has been a strange experience for me. But traveling the region of the Black Sea and discovering its nature within myself required time. Our world is full of wonders and awes and traveling (both physically as well as emotionally) remains one of the most important aspects of living”, Rogiński admits.

Both sides are identical and have the same 8 tracks as the (hopefully, still available)  LP., see below.

1. Listopad 04:14
2. Cliffs and the Sea 04:21
3. Electron 05:28
4. Lyre 04:44
5. Talàn 04:55
6. Flickering Glance 04:10
7. Carpathian Transition 04:22
8. Night 02:46

Medium: Music Cassette
Category: .


Related Products