Home / Records & Tapes / With Kalama’s Quartet Back

my cart

Items ( 0 ) 0.00

Order over €75,- and get free shipping!

Mike Hanapi - With Kalama’s Quartet

Mike Hanapi was a brilliant steel guitarist and vocalist from Honolulu, whose recordings with Kalama’s Quartet and the Ilima Islanders remain among the highest peaks of early 20th century Hawaiian music. Truly peaceful, tranquil and unique.

Hanapi’s gorgeous falsetto voice is backed by lush harmony vocals, like a lonesome yodel floating above an oceanside choir. The purely acoustic instrumentation of lap steel guitars, ukeleles and harp-guitars weaves gently in and out of the vocal melodies, creating fluid and harmonious layers and achingly beautiful blue notes.

Most of these songs have never been reissued on any format, and have been remastered from original 78 rpm discs by Tim Stollenwerk. The recordings date from the 1920s.

Includes an 8-page full sized booklet with biographical notes, and beautiful rare photographs, and full lyrics in Hawaiian and English. Co-released with Olvido Records.


A1 Hilo Hula
A2 Kalamaula
A3 Kaena
A4 Ua Like No A Like
A5 Song Of Hawaii
B1 He Manao Healoha
B2 I Nikiniki Malie
B3 Lei Ohu
B4 Mauna Kea
B5 Wai O Puna Lau

Label: Mississippi Records / MRI125
Artist: Mike Hanapi
Medium: LP
Category: .


Related Products