Home / Books & Magazines / The HUB: Pioneers of Network Music Back

my cart

Items ( 0 ) 0.00

Order over €75,- and get free shipping!

Ludger Brümmer (Editor) - The HUB: Pioneers of Network Music

The US ensemble The Hub consists of Tim Perkis, Scot Gresham-Lancaster, Chris Brown, John Bischoff, Phil Stone and Mark Trayle. It emerged from the League of Automatic Music Composers in 1986. They revolutionized electronic music with democratically organized composition and performance processes operating in networks. They were awarded the Giga-Hertz-Award from the ZKM / Hertz-lab in 2018, for their exceptional influence in genres like Live Coding, Network Music, Circuit Bending and interactive improvisation at a time were most of these genres were not existing.

About the book

The publication depicts the collective’s work in a historical context, allows companions and musicologists to have their say and brings together the group’s (annotated) compositional writings for the first time. These scores form the heart of the book and are not only archival documents, but also instructions for playing and the starting point for future projects of a new generation of network music.

Texts by: Ludger Brümmer, Alvin Curran, Golo Föllmer, Barbara Golden, Shelly Knotts, Thomas Lehn, Jon Leidecker, George Lewis, Gino Robair, Julian Rohrhuber, Carter Scholz, Laetitia Sonami, Atau Tanaka, Peter Weibel.

Hardcover, published in 2021, 208 pages, 14 colour, 33 b/w illustrations.

Publisher: Kehrer Verlag / ZKM Karlsruhe / ISBN: 9783969000410
Medium: Book


Related Products