Home / Records & Tapes / Fourth Dimension Back

my cart

Items ( 0 ) 0.00

Order over €75,- and get free shipping!
Out of stock

BBC Radiophonic Workshop - Fourth Dimension

Featuring recordings all created by the BBC Radiophonic Workshop composer Paddy Kingsland, who joined the creative staff of the Workshop in 1970, although it was credited to “The BBC Radiophonic Workshop”. It features theme tunes used by BBC radio and television. The music prominently features VCS 3 and “Delaware” Synthi 100 synthesisers, both from Electronic Music Studios (London) Ltd, with a standard rock-based session band providing backing.

From the sleeve notes:

“Programme producers come to the Workshop with varying requests – it must be ‘bright’, ‘catchy’, ‘sinister’, ‘modest’, ‘supernatural’, ‘funny’, and so on but, most important, it must be unique in terms of sound qualities.

The composer then sets to work to create the tune using natural sounds, which have been manipulated in some way and cut together on tape, or electronic sources, such as the voltage controlled synthesiser. […] The synthesisers used on this disc are both British, and both made by E.M.S. of London. They are the VCS3, an amazingly versatile miniature synthesiser, and its big brother, the Synthi ‘100’, known within the Radiophonic Workshop as ‘The Delaware’, after the address of the Workshop. This machine incorporates a digital memory that can be programmed via a conventional keyboard, and can store 256 events on 3 layers in any one ‘run’. In combination with the multi-track tape recorder, it provides all the facilities of an electronic music studio, its range being limited only by the imagination of the person using it.

The specially created stereo is not an attempt at realism, but is used as a sound object in its own right.”

A1     Scene & Heard (Radio 1)
A2     Just Love (BBC TV)
A3     Vespucci
A4     Reg (BBC African Service)
A5     Tamariu (BBC TV)
A6     One-Eighty-One (Radio 4)
B1     Fourth Dimension (Radio 4)
B2     Colour Radio (BBC Radio Leeds)
B3     Take Another Look (Radio 4)
B4     Kaleidoscope (Radio 4)
B5     The Space Between (Radio 3)
B6     Flashback

Reissue from 2014, pressed on “180 grams audiophile vinyl.”

Label: Music On Vinyl / B00JMTXGO2
Medium: LP
Category: .


Related Products